Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm new here and I'm not sure if this is the right section, but I'll post anyways. So my very first car is a '68 Cougar and I'm not really good with engine specs and such. The engine is a 302 4-barrel V8 "J" code. I'm just wondering if at that engine size it would be fast or slow or in between. I'm pretty sure the J-code is 230 HP. I thought it would have been cool to have a 351, because that seems to be the more popular engine. So, what do you think? BTW the person who I got it from said it has Tri-Y headers and it also has flowmaster exhaust which I think looks a little chessy because they are turn-downs.

·
Registered
780 Posts
The 302 V8 is probably the best bang for your dollar in way of performance. Parts are readily available everywhere thanks to the more modern Mustang 5.0's and you can easily push 400hp out of one of these blocks for a 1/4 of the price it would cost you to do that with most other motors. The bonus with these engines is also the fuel economy in comparison to others.

A cam, good intake, headers, pulleys, and carb will give you a great performance boost out of these engines for a lower cost. Want to get a little crazier then buy a nice set of aftermarket heads and a good electronic ignition system and distributor, change rear end gears, higher stall torque converter and a shift kit and you'll have allot of fun on your weekend race track.

Definitely if you are making this car a good performance driver I would think about investing some of that engine money first into a brake upgrade if you don't have discs, and front suspension/steering.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Definitely if you are making this car a good performance driver I would think about investing some of that engine money first into a brake upgrade if you don't have discs, and front suspension/steering.