Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, newbie here. Sorry if this is an old discussion, but I thought I had a Cleveland and someonw has cast doubt on my conviction. What's the test?

1970 Standard Convertible.

Thanks.
Lisa:confused:

·
Registered
329 Posts
cleveland or not

Lisa their are only 2 ways I know if It's a W or C. Spark plugs cleveland 10mm / windsor 14mm.Thermostat Cleveland top left front of motor Windsor top left on top of motor:D STEELCAT 70 XR7 Convertible I have a Windsor.

·
Premium Member
2,048 Posts
To expand on Steelcat's explanation, on a 351 Windsor, the upper radiator hose connects to the intake manifold. On a 351 Cleveland, it connects to the block.

That's the easiest way to tell the difference.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hm, I was hoping I could do a vin search or something...

So the big fat top rad hose appears to go to the center top of the block. Unless that is the manifold... (it's dark currently).

And thanx for the greetings, all.

L

·
Registered
329 Posts
cleveland or windsor

Lisa you can get info from your vin# It's called martiautoworks (623)935-2558 call him you need your vin# and I think about $40 and he will send you a complete history on your cat .When I got my report I was supprised about all the info about my CAT.Even told me what dealership order & sold it. make sure you order the deluxe report.:D STEELCAT 70 XR7 convert.

·
Contributing Member
89 Posts
Can you tell by valve cover bolts? I had same Question when i got my 70, never having a cleveland or windsor I called one of the bigger cougar parts dealers can't remember which they said eight bolts on covers cleveland, i think? 6 on windsor mine has eight. Free Ford report said mine came with cleveland. Please let me know if i'm going on wrong info Thanks

·
Registered
5,299 Posts