Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Used a tool from kooade to tap my W studs, and after screwing in the studs all the way, noticed some were slightly off perpendicular. Must have had some where the tapper wasn't properly aligned with the stud hole and raised up the tool slightly from where it should have been.

After I have the machinist take off some from the stud mounts, and install the guides and studs, can I "whack" lightly those studs so they're correctly aligned? Even after having a blast grinding the exhaust ports, I think a pair of aluminum heads are looking more and more essential. Eric

·
I thought I changed this?
1,213 Posts
I'm no expert, and would love to be proved wrong, but it's not a good sign !!

How did you tap them ?
I recently did the ones on my 302W using a piece of flat bar with a perpendicular hole tapped through.

It seems to have worked remarkably well !!

5558888967_53f963a30f_m.jpg

·
Registered
1,159 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The tool was a 1/2" in depth, and allowed for bolting down to one press-in stud at a time. I removed each other press-in stud, tapped, removed the remaining press-in studs, then used screw-in studs to keep the tool in place. kooade had to add a nut to the top, because the original thread in the tool was worn. Maybe I just didn't tighten down the tool enough. I tightened the tool down in both situations (with press-in stud used, and with screw-in stud used to keep the tool in place), where there wasn't any wiggle sideways or vertically, at least that's how it felt.

·
Registered
332 Posts