Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
Can anyone give me an opinion on the car described below as to the worth/appeal in the Cougar community?
I have no first hand knowledge of these cars but this guy is asking around half the money ($6500) of the
67-68 XR-7 GT equipped cars I’ve seen in similar condition. The owner has been very responsive, up-front
and thoroughly answered all of my questions so far, however, he is 2200 miles away and I am very uneasy
about buying it sight-unseen. He is going to make a video of it this weekend and I’d like to get
suggestions of any critical areas I should see. I want to get an independent inspection/appraisal but
not sure what my options are. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

VIN 65A Y 2Y 25H 54 2W

I'm 2nd owner. Still have original registration and license plate frame. 302, 2bbl, AT, PS,
delux interior, dual exhaust, original sequential turn signals still work, 187K miles, engine rebuilt at
120K +-, rear bumper and trunk lid trim rechormed '00, new window regulators '02, dash removed and bezels
rechromed and all bulbs replaced '02, leaf springs stiffened by adding additional leaf '00, KYB shocks
rear '01, misc. front end work tie rod ends, idler arm, etc. about 4 years ago, engine bay and trunk have
been nicely detailed. I'm probably missing some things I've done but this gives you an idea. The car has
always had excellent care and always been garaged. Has never been owned or chopped up by a kid. Definately
not a hot rod, just a really nice curiser.

The reason I'm selling the car is that I'm retiring in April and selling our home and moving to a much
smaller place and won't have room to keep it. Plus my wife still has her first car and wants to begin a
resortation project on it in the near future.

Here are the pics. Thanks for the interest.

No problem. Glad to provide the info. for you.

1.) VIN 8R91F00405