Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all...well, I replaced the motor for the convertible top in my 1973 Cougar convertible, and it worked - for about ten minutes. And in the interest of full disclosure, I didn't change the motor, a local shop did, and they did NOT tell me that the cylinders looked bad. But they must be, because the new motor is trying, but the top will not come up. So I just ordered new cylinders and hoses from West Coast Classic Cougar, but I forgot to ask them on the phone how to bleed the lines once everything is installed. I am going to try this myself. I'm comfortable tinkering, it's just that I've never done this before. I've read in a couple of places about vacuum pumps, etc., but I'd love to hear from someone as to A) how difficult it really is, and B) what their experience has been as to the easiest way to go about it. Thanks again for your help, Tyson.

·
Registered
205 Posts
have you checked the fluid level? my 70 takes trans fluid atf type Fa

i believe they are self bleeding at least mine on a 70 are. i filled the reservoir leaving the cap off and physically moved the top up and down without running motor. then ran the motor until it worked fine. haven't had any problems since. just don't over fill reservoir.

just be careful tighting the hoses not to strip them, you can check for leaks afterwards, just snug them down well. cylinders don't usually go bad unless leaking but what do i know?

·
Registered
36 Posts
The method that I use to bleed my 73 convertible is to use a plastic turkey baster to drain some of the fluid out, put towels around the pump (in the event of overflow/spillage), run the convertible top up and down a couple of times, and use the baster to carefully add fluid as needed.

<font size="3">If you are married or have a significant other, you may want to buy a new baster first….. <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com