Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
676 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay guys I need some help. I have a 68 Mercury Cougar Xr7. I redid my front suspension with new upper and lower control arms and strut rods and just got the car to the alignment shop. Apparently the upper control arms right at the ball joint are rubbing on the tire.

The shop thinks I have the wrong wheel or the wrong arm. They won't even try to align it, because they don't think it will help. The tires are the 14" styled steel wheel that came on a Cougar and are the originals I think. I got the arms from Mustangs Unlimited Cougar division and I think they are correct as well.

What could be causing the arms to run on the tire? I think it could be just because the alignment is way off, but the shop won't hear of it. Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Hey Neal,
I'm new to this game with the front end, but if you think that the arms could possibly be wrong, here's what I think is the right info. I think the uppers from 67 to 70 are all the same with the exception of either 3 or 4 bolts or rivets on the ball joint. I think the lower arm is different on the 68-73. Good Luck!

Matt

·
Registered
163 Posts
Are they rubbing the tire itself or the rim? Had you adjusted the camber when you put the lower control arms in? Just tossing out ideas... could also just be that the wheels dont have the correct backspacing.

·
Registered
1,832 Posts
Neal, you dont say what size tire you have on it. Alignment will not change the problem you have. I assume you didnt have the problem before you changed the control arms?? mm

·
Registered
206 Posts
I know what your problem is exactly...