Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got new moulded carpet for my convertible and am going to install it in the next few weeks and had one question. I read about leaving it open in the sun to soften it up a little and to use weight to help it take shape so I'm good with those parts. I also plan on putting in sound deadener under the carpet. My question is, is there an adhesive I'm supposed to use to hold the carpet in place or does it just get pressed in? I'm guessing there has to be something to hold it down but since I've never done carpeting before I have no clue. Any suggestions of a particular product would be a big help. Thanks!

Ben

·
Contributing Member
6,137 Posts
I've never glued it down. You might need to remove it someday. The seats, door sill plates and the seatbelt anchor points are enough that it doesn't move around.

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That works for me. I've had to remove carpet at work that was glued down and it was brutal. Hopefully the weather here coorperates so I can get to it soon. Thanks for the info.

·
Registered
1,853 Posts
Don't know anything about convertables or 69's but the original carpet in my 68 wasn't glued to anything. cept the backing insulation.

·
Registered
2,400 Posts
A trick of the trade is to actually spray it with warm water. I've never done this with a piece of molded vehicle carpet but it is the bomb when working with stiff cuts whilst installing in, say, a home.

·
Registered
257 Posts
I am planning on ordering carpet for my 68 next week. I am going to buy a Dynamat knockoff off of Ebay to put under it rather than the stuff you can order with a carpet kit... should be better sound deadening for about the same $$

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter #7