Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to this area so wondering where to start. I have a block bored 40 over, also have a crank but I think if Im making a stroker Ill need a different crank. Also Was wondering what other components I'll need. I have some heads, D70E, Looks like theyve been reworked recently but again Im new to this. Anyone know of a nice but affordable stroker setup?

·
Contributing Sr Motorhead
5,470 Posts
www.coasthigh.com

www.cnc-motorsports.com

Before going with any stroker kit, you must first determine what block you have now. Early 351Ws had a deck height (distance from centerline of crank to top of block deck) of 9.480". later blocks used 9.503" Some stroker kits use a particular set of components that would put the top of the piston above the block deck of a 9.480 block and must be used with a 9.503 block! (like the 393W kit I developed).

Cylinder heads - getting enough air into and out of the cylinders is tough enough with factory SBF heads in a 302, and they're marginal for the larger 351W. They are woefully insufficient for a 351W-based stroker! Just about any aftermarket head would be a big improvement. You don't have to spend an arm and a leg, either. I picked up a used pair of ported World Windsor Senior heads - that flow on par with Edelbrock Victors - for only $400.

Next we have to ask what your intent is with the new motor... Towing (low RPM torque) or high performance??? What kind of fuel do you intend to use? Pump regular, Pump premium or race fuel? What cam type - hydraulic flat tappet, solid flat tappet, hydraulic roller, or solid roller???