Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi...I'm pretty new to Cougars and no doubt this question has been posed before...but I would really appreciate some help. I have a shop manual and followed it, but still have problems. After replacing the master cylinder, both front calipers, and both rear wheel cylinders, I still haver very weak brakes. I bench bled the MC, bled the entire system 3 times and yet when I apply the brakes hard, the rears lock up. It is as if there are no front brakes at all. The warning light stays lit even after trying to re-balance the system as per the shop manual. My question is this: Does the dist. block and proportioning valve stay stuck occasionally and require replacing? The book says it is not servacible. No leaks in the system, anywhere. Brakes pump up firm and hold fine while sitting still, but when driving.....no fronts or very little. My proportioning valve does not have the O-ring I have read about. Would this cause my condition?

Please help.....

·
Registered
2,145 Posts
Did you adjust the rear brake shoes? adjust them til they drag pretty hard then back it off til they just BARELY rub. tap the brake peddel a few times and recheck, the tire should rotate freeley and you can still hear a slight "shh" sound of the shoes. that will give you less peddle travel by decreesing the distance the shoes have to move before contacting the drum.

cheers,
rich

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #3