Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been having a braking issue since i bought this car.(1978 XR7 Cougar) The driver side squeaked horribly. I just pulled the tire off today and to my amazement i discovered that the car in fact hasnt had a pad on the car within the last 3-5,000 miles at my estimate. The rotor is completely worn out. So bad in fact there holes going through the front surface and its scored. Im replacing the rotor and getting new pads. The passenger side is perfectly fine. Very little wear and the rotor is perfect. So my question is this. Should i replace the caliper when i do the brakes? or should i just replace the pads? And does anyone have any pointers about replacing the brakes? Its my first time doing them myself. Thanks!

·
Registered
7,552 Posts
I would just do the pads and rotor, if it were me...

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
OK. Thanks for the help. Im still shocked at how bad it is.

·
Premium Member
328 Posts
When the brakes on one wheel only is totally worn out and the other side is good I would always assume there is something wrong somewhere. Usually this is a result of a brake caliper that does not move as freely as it should and when you take the pressure away from your brake pedal the piston(s) in the caliper does not move away from the rotor far enough and the pad will scrub the rotor all the time. Of course this will cause excessive wear on that side and eventually brake failure.
It is really important to check how the caliper piston is moving, and if there is doubts replace the calipers. And I write calipers for a reason, as you should replace both to be 100% sure you get even brakes. Uneven brakes is extremely dangerous and have caused many accidents. Remember brake parts are inexpensive compared to the cost bad brakes may generate in a situation where you really need good brakes.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #6