Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
519 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to bleed the brakes on my 68 XR-7 (F-disk/R-drum). I've never done this before but I found a good step by step guide that explains the process pretty good.

Since my car has power brakes do I need to have the engine running when I bleed them? :confused:

·
Registered
337 Posts
Oh, and as the post said, you do want the engine running when you bleed them for best results.

·
11,000 Posts
There's no reason to run the engine. It works fine with engine off and is much safer. Otherwise the article looks good except you must check and refill the reservoir about every five pumps. Another thing, clear plastic tubing is unnecessary. Regular vacuum hose works fine. I use a 1 quart coffee can to catch the fluid. The order of bleeding should be as follows:
Right rear.
Left rear.
Right front.
Left front.

If working by yourself like I always am (no friends) you can use a length of broom stick that is the correct length from seat riser to the pedal to hold the pedal down so that you can close the bleeder valve, top off the reservoir and reinstall the reservoir cap before letting the pedal return. Otherwise an assistant must close the bleeder valve before you release the pedal for the last time.

Another good one man method is to use a reverse bleeder kit or pressure pot bleeder. Both types are available from Snap - On, Matco, Mac tools etc.

I was at Auto Zone two weeks ago and bought complete new rear wheel cylinders for $8 apiece, bought a spare set because that is a really good deal!

·
Premium Member
2,048 Posts
Personally, I got sick of the whole brake bleeding thing and just bought a Robinair Electric Vacuum pump, hooked it up to a bottle and now I just simply connect the line to the bleeder valve, open it a bit, turn the pump on and away we go.

This method also allows me to flush the entire brake system with ease once a year or so...

Pump cost me about $150 on Ebay.

·