Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a complete Newb to car restoration. I've come to agreement to buy a 1969 Cougar XR-7. Numbers indicate it was a Factory 351W - 4V (is that uncommon combo?) I believe that most where 351w 2v right?

Body Panels really straight
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v253/Liteforcehunter/Cougar/DSC04203.jpg

What looks like paint peel is actually frost on the car. Paint is in good shape.

Now the Bad:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v253/Liteforcehunter/Cougar/DSC04212.jpg

The roof has a few spots where rust has gone through the roof and started leaking. The Owner put rtv on the spots to seal it. My Question is could this roof be saved or am I looking at removing and replacing the roof? I know it is hard to be certain from the pic but based on experience what are the chances of saving the roof. I'm mechanically inclined (I work on wide body jumbo jets). And I have a Mig welder... What do you guys think. also We have agreed to $2800 on this car. Engine has low miles on a rebuild and FMX tranny is solid. Do you think I'm paying too much for this car?

·
Premium Member
13,577 Posts
I don't have to even look to tell you that you probably need to replace the roof skin (vinyl top car, correct?). Search for member Blitz here, he just did this job and did a video too, you may find it more easily at cougapartscatalog.com (West Coast Classic Cougar).

Welcome to the forum.

Regards,

Bob

·
Premium Member
2,364 Posts