Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in the process of removing the 351c from my 73, since I have never done this before, I'm following the Engine Removal and Installation process from a 64-73 Mustang/cougar Chilton's repair manual. Everything has been going fine untill step 12. Remove the flyeheel or converter housing upper retaining bolts through the access holes in the floor pan.?? Can anyone explain to me what they are talking about. I assume that if there are access holes in the floor pans they are under the carpet, however I can not find them. Am I way off base here?

·
Premium Member
13,577 Posts
No, THEY are way off base, at least to my knowledge. The uper bellhousing bolts (what I believe they are talking about) have no access holes, they are "get to 'em however you can" bolts.

·
Contributing Member
6,137 Posts
Long extensions with universals will most likely be your best bet. Although I've never worked on one so "new." LMAO

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the help. I think I finally figured out what bolts they were talking about. After the starter was removed there were 5 bolts left to take out. I was able to reach 3 from above and 2 from below. Now I need to remove the 4 nuts through the access panel, however it looks like a 2 person job to me. I think I need someone to keep the engine from turning while I break the nuts loose.

·
Registered
524 Posts
No, one person can do it. I usually us a socket on a Ratchet. Turn the ratchet until the flexplate turns and the socket will contact the shield which will help you hold the flexplate from rotating. Make sense? Try it, it will!

·
Registered
126 Posts