Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1970 Cougar Convertible with a 351-2V, PS and AC. My question is how difficult is it to install the headers? Can they be inserted from below? How high does the vehicle have to be?

Based upon looking at the factory manifolds, getting to all the bolts looks to be quite a task. Anyone undertaken this adventure.

I'm trying to determine if its a 1 day, 6 pack type of job or an all weekend, keg and all your buddies job. Thanks.

·
Registered
3,141 Posts
I had to do mine from the bottom - luckily I worked in a garage at the time. put the wife and kids in a soundproof booth, it's definitely a keg and case of knuckle sized band-aids job. :D

·
Registered
266 Posts
install

I used ramps (the kind you get at an auto parts store) under all four wheels. unbolting the motormount and jacking or lifting the motor up on the side your trying to install should give plenty of clearance for any hedar.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well, as an update I installed the headers this weekend and have the beat up knuckles to prove it. I bought the Hedman 88320 and the coresponding PS cylinder bracket.

Ok, so here's the scoop. I placed the car on ramps and began trying to determine how to reach all the fasteners. On the driver's side I removed the PS pump which allows access to the first two/three fasteners. The other was a combination of reaching from below to reaching from above. I also took both motor mount bolts and and used a jack to raise and lower the engine as needed. Lucky for me this motors been apart in the past and after breaking the bolts loose I could finish them with my finger tips.