Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the current market value for a restored 69 351 eliminator in fully restored condition as well as a driver condition car,and are 69s and 70s comparable in value? thanks

·
Premium Member
6,980 Posts
I am by no means an expert on values. But, I'll go out on a limb and guess that a correctly restored 1969 M code Eliminator, to concours condition, would fetch near $60k at auction. My only caveat would be that it would be a John Benoit or KTM caliber restoration, using NOS or mint used parts.
Additionally, this Eliminator would need to have a factory sunroof, 4 speed transmission, air conditioning, power windows, AM/FM stereo, space saver spare, style steel wheels, and have a tilt swing steering column. All items would have to be Marti verified.

·
Premium Member
6,980 Posts
... and of course, no 1969 Eliminator was optioned this way. All Sunroof Eliminators in 1969 were automatics.
You are no doubt correct, 101 sunroof Eliminators, and should all be Hertz rental cars. I was trying to illustrate a level of restoration, and that options come into play.

·
Registered
267 Posts
The answer to that Q is probably the same answer as this question: How long is a string?

/Tommy.

·
Registered
2,260 Posts
All the strings I've ever met were already attached :-/

·
Registered
2,400 Posts
this Eliminator would need to have a factory sunroof, 4 speed transmission, air conditioning, power windows, AM/FM stereo, space saver spare, style steel wheels, and have a tilt swing steering column. All items would have to be Marti verified.
How many came as you describe (1?) and then how many 70 elim's had a 351,4 speed and a sunroof??

·
Registered
130 Posts
The 69 Eliminator is more desirable than a 70 Eliminator 'cause only in 69 could you order an "R" code car. Beside the 70 model has that big extended hood/nose style ugly front end. LOL