Mercury Cougar Owners banner
1 - 20 of 267 Posts

·
Registered
2,036 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I figured that I'd go ahead and start a thread on building up my freshly-aquired 68 Cougar XR-7 into a resto-modded driver- just for kicks and entertainment. Please feel free to add your input, offer suggestions, or just tell me I'm doing it all wrong!. It's going to be my daily driver, and will most certainly be driven hard on occasion, so I'm not going to do anything overkill, like polish my exhaust or anything. There is a car show at Mustangs Unlimited on July 13th. Let's see what happens by then. I initially wanted to have it done by then, but I've instead jumped in face first and taken it all apart instead of driving it while I did simple upgrades.

I'm a painter at a body shop, so if nothing else it WILL be shiny.

The story behind the car is kinda fun, so I'll start there-

I started looking at cars to build over the winter. Whatever I got was going to be my "last chance" of sorts to dump a bunch of money into a car before my wife and I have kids next year. I found this car in 2/08- the guy wanted $3600, I offered $3200, he rejected it, so I walked away and bought a 66 Chevy C10. I really wanted the Cougar, but I've had a few old trucks in the past and figured it would be a simple and satisfying build. As soon as I started getting into it, I felt that God (yes, God... it's a relationship thing...) told me to go ahead and do whatever It was I had planned for it, but to get it done in 3 months. Okay.
So I busted my butt on it, spent most of what I had on it, and had it painted and done, with the exception of a seat recover and disc brakes within 2 and a half months. The afternoon that I finished buffing it and drive it home from the body shop (work), some lady in a Tundra made a blind left turn through backed up mall traffic right in front of me, so I hit her in her right bedside. Her fault.