Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so here's my plan I have a 67 std 289 2v c4 8" but the interior is stripped and im not interested in doing a full restoration so what I want to do is 351w supercharged ati procharger 8psi with aftermarket heads then swap in a c6 I plan on running a 3.73 ratio explorer 8.8 31spline disc brakes and making all that happen is what im asking about has anyone had any experience with this combo or anything like it in a 67.
My background is rockcrawling I've built a couple jeeps one big 76 f150 on tons exoed 42"irocks im working in a reasonably well equipped shop with car lift I can fabricate parts weld and consider myself to be a decent mechanic but im new to the hotrod scene I've been wanting to build a 67 cougar for 13 years (dusk til dawn ) so any help/ideas/suggestions are greatly appreciated oh yeah im running on a fairly tight budget so I need to spend the monies wisely im not afraid to dive into a junkyard for parts
p.s im looking for a spot on the curb barry is my name I look forward to learning about the cars and people who love them

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Is thier no interest in a project like this am I on my own should I not be building this car into a hotrod I personally think its to far gone to restore but that's me as far as I know it is not very special please let me know do I need to post the vin#

·
Contributing Member
5,865 Posts
Go for it. Been looking at a build costs for a 331W 5.0 with Eaton supercharger and injection for a while. i like the balance of the smaller lighter motor in 67/68 - plus a 331 will rev easily to 7500

Not sure i can get you a spot on the Curb but might be able to arrange a smudge

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #4