Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
667 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,Im new to your great site,,Just picked up a 67 cougar it has a bench seat.When i was looking @ the car the owner said that it came factory with a bench.I'd never seen a bench seat in a cougar this style just what to know if anyone mite know if any 67 cougar came factory like that.2nd thing is the head lights the vacuum lines are not hooked up..and the lights dont come on is the trigger for the lights built in to the vacuum.welp Thanks Ron

·
Registered
2,991 Posts
Welcome to MC.NET, please add your location to your profile. Now to answer your 1st question: Yes a bench seat was available in a '67 Cougar. There were a total of 7,395 built in '67. If you'll look on the inside of the drivers door there will be a data tag on there on the lower left corner of the tag it will say "Body" the code should say 65C. If you would like to post all the info on the tag someone will help decifer the codes.

·
Registered
2,739 Posts
Welcome Ron.

You will definitely want to obtain and get familiar with the '67 shop manual. It has tons of information, including schematics for vacuum and electric systems.

Your vacuum light covers on the '67 are controlled by an electric solenoid under the hood. Pulling on your light switch sends voltage to the solenoid and it in turn controls the vacuum to the headlight covers so they will open. The lights themselves are not controlled by any vacuum and should come on even if the vacuum does not work. You may have some parts missing...

Do you have one of these under your hood?

·
Registered
667 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ok here is that code 65C X 4A 21M 52 I W and yes it has that mounted on the driver side inter fender but there are only the head lights run to it no vacuum from the intake im guessing is where they should come from

·
Registered
1,307 Posts