Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,521 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I found a local guy with this "special" painting process that resembles chrome. I have been eyeballing this $10k system at SEMA for a couple of years but after doing my homework and talking to end users, the system is not for rookies and does take a lot of time to perfect. Glad I did not pull the trigger even though the sales people "insist" it is a blow and go process. This local guy has been doing it for six years and still has a hiccup now and again. Here are some pictures, once he applies the black detail paint I will take some quality photos. Looks like a 67-68 xr7 or std set with RH emblem, the decorative buttons, black paint applied and a minor defect or two repaired will retail (on an exchange basis) for about $200. The good news is I will keep 20 sets on the shelf at all times so the turn around will be instant (most times). This is less than half of what the vacuum and electro plating process generally runs and it appears more durable too! What do you guys think?

·
Registered
7,552 Posts
From what I can tell from here, it looks really, really good!

·
Registered
2,400 Posts
They look great, Don

This is a detail that most cougars could use.
Now, if yo can come up with an "easy" button to get the old ones out without breaKING.

Funny....I mistakenly hit the caps button wilst my finger was leaving the a.....

·
Registered
1,076 Posts
Looks like you've hit another home run in the everybody-needs-it department!

·
Contributing Member
6,137 Posts
Yeah, count me in on that EVERYBODY list. I'll definitely keep this in mind next time I tear into the dash.

·
Registered
2,991 Posts
You never stop to amaze Don!!! Looks real good.

·
Registered
3,320 Posts
Excellent, Don!

Is this the work of our friend from Mollala, by chance?

Just curious, this makes perfect sense from what his process sounded like!

·
Registered
2,055 Posts