Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
I actually really like this one, I might try to get it even though i just bought an old porsche 911 literally today. Can the experts kind of pick this on apart for me? Anything major wrong/missing? What would be fair money? I know price is super subjective, but a ballpark would be cool. thanks.

·
Registered
1,598 Posts
Looks like a really nice auction and if I were closer, I would be there. Cougar looks nice and I like the pie safe and eagle head knife.

·
Registered
164 Posts
Wow. From the pics, this looks like a 39,000 mi survivor to me and I have a real weakness for original, unrestored cars. A standard X-code, with the seldom seen painted black roof....I am no expert, and factoring in the economy, inspecting it in person, and how many car people are at the auction, my guess is $9,000-14,000. I do know that if it were closer, I would be there bidding.

Fran

·
Registered
11,950 Posts
WOW - if you could walk outta there with that for 8-10 you should be smiling for sure. NICE wish it were closer myself! Good luck if you go.....

·
Registered
2,739 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I think you're allowed to make phone bids and absentee bids (with prior arrangement) as well. I may pop in on the Friday before the auction and give it a look-see and grab VIN numbers but I'm not looking for another car.

photos

·
Registered
292 Posts
anyone know what happened with this car? It's no longer on craigslist (ad was flagged)

·
Registered
563 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,980 Posts
Looks very original under the hood. I only see a missing fan shroud.

I see an S tube, correct heater blower motor shield, 7 blade fan looks right, and correct looking distributor advance.

Looks like it has the Car & Driver sticker on the window?

·
Registered
1,853 Posts
What is that side trim? I don't think I have seen that before?

·
Registered
1,717 Posts
Received this in my Cougar Club email - Putting here for anyone interested: