Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I'm new to the Mercury/Ford Scene and have a question regarding the 351.

I'm currently looking at a 69 Cougar with a 351W. The motor cost was approximately $6,000. It was built by I believe JE Engines, or something along those lines. Regardless, it is putting out 610HP on a dyno. The guy mentioned something along the lines of it not running on pump gas. Being naturally aspirated, even with high compression, it should still be able to run on pump gas, am I wrong?

I don't see where it would NEED to be ran on race gas.

Is there anything I'm missing on required octane levels? Seeing 610HP should still hypothetically streetable. I'm going to find more information on the specs, but figured I'd get some initial opinions until I speak with the guy tomorrow.

Granted, I've seen 600+ HP Camaro's run standard 93-Octane. I'm unsure if I'm overlooking any major factors.

Than again, old school guys can tend to sometimes over complicate things when not necessary.

I'm planning on using her as an occasional racer and show car. Yet, I would think if driven carefully could be a frequent driver on the nicer days.

The guy claims at 420HP it couldn't hook up and would go sideways in third. Do I doubt that? No, but I feel if driven carefully and not like an ******* it could be a good occasional driver.

Let me know what you guys think!

-Derek

·
Registered
1,126 Posts
The fact he told you it doesn't run on pump gas is a real CLUE..... Sure there are engines producing over 600 hp on pump gas, example, Vette ZR-1 and others, but they are injected high tech pieces.

You need to learn more, I would guess it is a high compression engine, NOT injected, or computer controlled. I doubt it would be a engine you would want to drive on the street, also one that would probably require lots of attention to maintain proper performance. IMO.

I wish you well,

Dale in Indy

·
Registered
332 Posts