Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What will I need to do to fit a 351 Cleveland in my standard 67 Cougar? I'm new to this game, so forgive me if that's a foolish question. Thanks!

·
Registered
2,518 Posts
There really isn't anything out of the ordinary to make it fit. The 67 had the same engine bay as the 70. You just need to make sure you have all the parts for the clevo like the pulley setup and exhaust and such, engine mounts are the same, as is the bellhousing pattern for all small block transmissions. There are several guys on here that have done it, and a few with current projects that have had no issues.

·
Premium Member
6,980 Posts
On 1967 installations, you will need to change the engine frame stands. 1968-70 small block frame stands are needed.

Correct 1967 small block engine mounts are not available new, used and NOS only.

·
Registered
19 Posts
hey thats the same thing im in the process of doing except mine is a 68 standard! I was wondering if there should be any suspention mods dont to the car to handle the bigger/heavier motor?

·
Registered
389 Posts
it wont fit. not worth the hassle of trying to make it fit. i have a couple of 302's at the house that'll fit right in your car with no problem and i'll take that pesky 351 off your hands and put it in my car. no need to thank me, my generosity is solely to beneifit the collector car community. :)

·
Premium Member
1,276 Posts
My younger brother had a hard time sticking that in my first '68

... but what a ride :lol:

·
Registered
152 Posts