Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am new to the cougar world, but I have general mechanical knowledge and capabilities. I am 25 years old, so I am new to tinkering with old engines. Since he passed, I am trying to get my Grandfathers '78 Cougar up and running again and I have a few questions on what to expect... here are some stats about the car

• 1978 Cougar XR7
  • 351W V8
  • 33K Original Miles
  • Always garage kept and been sitting in a garage under blankets since '03
  • Before that there was Always regular maintenance done
  • Interior and Exterior are in Beautiful condition
  • Tires are still inflated but a little low
What all do I need to do to get it started and on the road again, and what precautions should I look out for?? I would imagine I need to drain all fluids out (gas, oil, steering, brake, etc.) and replace, charge the battery and see if it holds a charge. What else could I run into? it was a "Sunday Driver" type of vehicle, very well taken care of, if it sat for a while it was taken out for a drive to "blow it out" but has not been driven or started in 8 years or so

Thanks in advance, I appreciate all the help I can get
~Darrin

·
Registered
160 Posts
Dump the gas out, unless its been treated with fuel stabilizer, dont start it with the fuel in the lines. Disconnect the fuel line to the carb, pour a little bit of fuel in the carb instead when starting. Charge the battery cause its more than likely dead or get another one.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the info, I am going to slowly work on everything here and there in my free time. I am going to do an oil change today, is there any certain oil or addative I should use since it hasnt been cranked in a LONG time?

·
Registered
107 Posts