Cool cars.... gotta be one of the craziest front grilles of the era

·
Registered
2,660 Posts
Looks like a good deal !

·
Registered
200 Posts
Too bad it isn't one of the W-31's. I remember reading about the W-31 when I was a kid being the Professional Man's land rocket....

And there I go being a tard, that was actually an Oldsmobile.....shucks.....

With that front grille though, looks like it should have a name like W-31 reminiscent of a first gen jet fighter.

·
Registered
8,194 Posts
Can't tell if it has the dashpad-mounted gauges. Between this feature and the exterior styling the 70-71 Cyclone is one of my favorites.

I almost bought a 70 Cyclone GT many years ago, but bought the 72 Montego wagon instead. For the same price (about &950.00).

·
Registered
1,422 Posts
In 1970, the Cyclone GT's all got the hidden headlights, (optional on other Cyclones).

·
Registered
1,302 Posts
You took the wagon over the Cyclone GT?
Nothing wrong with the wagon but, a Cyclone GT.

Can't tell if it has the dashpad-mounted gauges. Between this feature and the exterior styling the 70-71 Cyclone is one of my favorites.

I almost bought a 70 Cyclone GT many years ago, but bought the 72 Montego wagon instead. For the same price (about &950.00).

·
Registered
8,194 Posts
Yah, I know. Crazy, huh. It was before I got my Cougar. Looking for a project car or a potential family hauler. I like the 72 Montegos too. Turned out OK in the end, I made a decent amount of money renting then selling the wagon to Paramount Pictures for use in the "Brady Bunch" movies.

Some days, though, I kick myself for not buying the Cyclone. It drove OK but it needed a bit of cosmetic work. (Yellow, black vinyl top, ginger interior with cloth inserts, 351-4v with a C4).

·
Registered
1,302 Posts
Sounds like you made the right choice.
How many can say their car was in the movies.:ylsup: