Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
200 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was working the front steering components this afternoon on my project Cougar, taking apart the gear box from the frame rail, power cylinder, control valve, etc and in the process of separating the control valve from the pitman arm I crushed and bent the threaded ends on the ball stud. I noticed online there are kits that replace the ball stud and come with a new rubber dust shield, clamp, screws and gaskets. Is this something that breaks commonly? Is this a task that anyone with patience can take on to replace the ball stud inside the control valve?

I have 1970 shop manual and after reading and looking at the diagrams it looks like the whole control valve will have to come apart in order to replace the ball stud. It doesn't look over complicated but I've never done one before. My car skills are okay but I'm in the junior category. Is this something that I should take on? Anyone have further documents/instructions/techniques to replace this part?

·
Registered
5,883 Posts
It wears out pretty commonly, since it moves around so much.
You can use an online tutorial or you can send the whole control valve to be rebuilt, or swap it locally to a parts store as a core, and then just put the new one back on the car.

I give it about a 6 on the junior mechanic difficulty meter, out of a 10. But, you gotta stop hitting things with a BFH and think your way around them or you're going to cost yourself a lot of unnecessary expense and aggravation.

·
Registered
8,194 Posts