Mercury Cougar Owners banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello All,
This is my first time posting. I recently got a '70 XR7. I have been slowly trying fix restore the car back. I removed the rear bumper because it some rust on it and I thought I might be able to clean it up. I have been using a couple of methods (000 steel wool and water, aluminum foil and water, chrome polish, etc. It definitely has removed some of the rust. I still have two spots on each end of the bumper. I attached pictures

I am looking for a little advice on whether I should continue and see if I can get to a shiny surface or is there some other way to clean up the bumper. I am just starting with the car so I have got a bunch of other projects to do on the car so. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.

Bumper Automotive exterior Automotive lighting Gas Wood
Hood Grille Automotive exterior Bumper Automotive lighting

·
Registered
78 Posts
Looking at those pics I'd say it's time to send those to Don at WCCC and get back a re-chromed set. It's not cheap to have them re-chromed yourself unless you have a connection locally. But think of it this way - one of the first things people notice on these old beauties is the chrome and the bumpers are the largest chromed items on the car. It's money well spent.

·
Registered
2 Posts